PawCompassPawCompass 毛孩有方

Does Pet Insurance Cover IVDD, Cruciate and Hip Dysplasia? 6 Australian Policies Compared (2026)

Last updated: 2026-09-23

On this page

Australian pet insurance can cover IVDD, cruciate ligament and hip or elbow dysplasia only if the current PDS says the condition is covered and the claim survives waiting periods, pre-existing-condition wording, bilateral rules and any sub-limits. For a cost view, read the pet insurance cost guide; for basic terms, start with how to choose pet insurance in Australia.

Up front: this article is general information only. It is not personal financial product advice and does not consider your objectives, financial situation or needs. Every term below should be checked against the insurer's current Product Disclosure Statement (PDS) and Target Market Determination (TMD) before you buy. PDS terms change.

Does pet insurance cover IVDD, cruciate and hip dysplasia?

The six products in this comparison all contain PDS wording for at least some IVDD, cruciate or hip/elbow dysplasia scenarios, but the detail differs sharply: Fetch uses 90 days for these listed conditions, RSPCA, Knose and Petsy use 6-month specified-condition periods, Budget Direct uses 30 days for IVDD and dysplasia but 6 months for cruciate, with condition sub-limits, and Coles has "Not specified in PDS" cells for IVDD and BOAS in the reviewed text.

The three clauses to read first are the waiting period, the pre-existing-condition definition and the bilateral-condition rule. Those clauses decide whether a second knee, a hip on the other side, or symptoms seen during the waiting period are treated as part of the same excluded condition.

How do six Australian policies compare?

The table below is a clause-level summary of the PDS text reviewed on 23 September 2026, with insurers listed alphabetically.

ProductIVDDCruciateHip/elbow dysplasiaBilateral ruleBOASCondition sub-limitsPDS date
Budget Direct PlusOrthopaedic; 30-day wait; Plus $25,000 sub-limit6-month wait; Plus $3,500 capOrthopaedic; 30-day wait; Plus $25,000 sub-limitOther side covered only if first coveredExcluded if signs/treatment before age 1Orthopaedic, cruciate, tick, snake caps2024-07-22
Coles UltimateNot specified in PDS6-month wait; $5,300 capNot accidental injuryBilateral to pre-existing excludedNot specified in PDSCruciate, tick, foreign object, euthanasia2025-06-11
Fetch Pet Plan90-day wait90-day wait90-day waitPre-cover one side makes both pre-existing90-day wait; pre-cover signs excludedNo condition dollar caps specified2024-01-09
Knose Pet InsuranceSpecified Condition; 6-month waitSpecified Condition; 6-month waitSpecified Conditions; 6-month waitOne condition; pre-existing can include bothApplication required and acceptedNo condition dollar caps found2024-11-15
Petsy Pet Protection PlusSpecified Condition; 6-month waitSpecified Condition; 6-month waitSpecified Conditions; 6-month waitOne condition; pre-existing can include bothForm, vet exam, acceptance requiredNo condition dollar caps found2024-11-15
RSPCA PetFlexSpecified Condition; 6-month waitSpecified Condition; 6-month waitSpecified Conditions; 6-month waitOne condition; pre-existing can include bothAssessment required; Grade 2+ excludedNo condition dollar caps found2026-06-30

This table is not a recommendation order. It is a reading map for the current PDS clauses.

Does pet insurance cover IVDD?

IVDD cover depends on the product wording: PetSure's 2025 claims data lists IVDD at an average claimed amount of $4,924, a highest claimed amount of $72,732, and higher-risk breeds in that dataset as Pekingese, French Bulldog and Miniature Dachshund.

ProductIVDD wording reviewed
Budget Direct PlusIntervertebral disc disease is included in orthopaedic conditions, with a 30-day waiting period when caused by illness; Plus orthopaedic sub-limit is $25,000.
Coles UltimateNot specified in PDS text reviewed.
Fetch Pet PlanIVDD has a 90-day waiting period.
Knose Pet InsuranceIVDD is a Specified Condition with a 6-month Exclusion Period.
Petsy Pet Protection PlusIVDD is a Specified Condition with a 6-month Exclusion Period.
RSPCA PetFlexIVDD is a Specified Condition with a 6-month Exclusion Period.

If a pet showed spinal signs before cover started or during the waiting period, the pre-existing-condition clause can matter more than the IVDD label.

Cruciate ligament: what waiting periods and sub-limits apply?

Cruciate ligament cover is usually subject to a long waiting period, and Budget Direct Plus and Coles Ultimate list specific cruciate dollar sub-limits.

ProductCruciate wording reviewed
Budget Direct Plus6-month waiting period; Essential/Comprehensive/Plus cruciate sub-limits are $2,600/$2,600/$3,500, with Plus at $3,500.
Coles Ultimate6-month waiting period; $5,300 total for all cruciate ligament conditions per pet per period of cover.
Fetch Pet PlanAny cruciate ligament issue has a 90-day waiting period.
Knose Pet InsuranceCruciate ligament damage is a Specified Condition with a 6-month Exclusion Period.
Petsy Pet Protection PlusCruciate ligament damage is a Specified Condition with a 6-month Exclusion Period.
RSPCA PetFlexCruciate ligament damage is a Specified Condition with a 6-month Exclusion Period.

PetSure claims data cited by petinsurance.com.au says surgical fees typically range from $3,000 to $4,000, hospitalisation can add around $2,000, and the average cruciate total is approximately $5,500. That is why a sub-limit can be more important than the headline annual limit.

What happens if the other knee or hip goes?

Bilateral wording matters because knees and hips come in pairs, and a pre-existing issue on one side can affect the other side later.

ProductBilateral wording reviewed
Budget Direct PlusA bilateral condition is single; if one side is covered, the other is covered, but if one side is pre-existing, the other is excluded.
Coles UltimateA bilateral condition can occur in paired body parts; a condition bilateral to a pre-existing condition is excluded.
Fetch Pet PlanFor paired body parts, if one side showed symptoms before cover started, both sides count as pre-existing.
Knose Pet InsuranceDuplicate body-part conditions are one condition when the second side is affected.
Petsy Pet Protection PlusDuplicate body-part conditions are one condition when the second side is affected.
RSPCA PetFlexDuplicate body-part conditions are one condition when the second side is affected.

Petinsurance.com.au also notes that dogs that rupture one cruciate "will likely rupture the other" later. That note is not a policy rule, but it explains why bilateral wording is not small print for cruciate claims.

How are hip and elbow dysplasia treated?

Hip and elbow dysplasia wording differs by product: some policies list them as specified conditions, Budget Direct treats them as orthopaedic conditions with a 30-day illness waiting period, Fetch lists a 90-day wait, and Coles excludes them from accidental-injury treatment.

ProductHip/elbow dysplasia wording reviewed
Budget Direct PlusHip and elbow dysplasia are orthopaedic conditions, with a 30-day waiting period when caused by illness; Plus orthopaedic sub-limit is $25,000.
Coles UltimateElbow dysplasia and hip dysplasia are not treated as accidental injury.
Fetch Pet PlanHip dysplasia and elbow dysplasia have a 90-day waiting period.
Knose Pet InsuranceHip dysplasia and elbow dysplasia are Specified Conditions with a 6-month Exclusion Period.
Petsy Pet Protection PlusHip dysplasia and elbow dysplasia are Specified Conditions with a 6-month Exclusion Period.
RSPCA PetFlexHip dysplasia and elbow dysplasia are Specified Conditions with a 6-month Exclusion Period.

PetSure's 2025 claims data lists dog hip surgery at an average claimed amount of $9,268 and a highest claimed amount of $31,582. That makes the dysplasia waiting-period and sub-limit wording worth reading before a puppy is insured.

What about brachycephalic breeds and BOAS?

BOAS is handled very differently across the reviewed wording, from assessment requirements to age-1 signs clauses and "Not specified in PDS" text.

ProductBOAS wording reviewed
Budget Direct PlusBrachycephalic illness is excluded if vet records show signs, symptoms or treatment before age 1; preventative or cosmetic procedures are not paid.
Coles UltimateNot specified in PDS text reviewed.
Fetch Pet PlanBOAS has a 90-day waiting period and is excluded if signs or symptoms existed before cover, including waiting periods.
Knose Pet InsuranceBOAS is excluded unless the BOAS application form is completed and accepted.
Petsy Pet Protection PlusBOAS cover requires a request form, vet exam, medical history and acceptance.
RSPCA PetFlexBOAS requires assessment and written acceptance; Grade 2 or higher is excluded.

For a French Bulldog or another brachycephalic breed, the BOAS clause should be read before buying cover, not after symptoms appear in veterinary notes.

What happens with pre-existing conditions and review periods?

Pre-existing-condition wording can exclude symptoms before cover, symptoms during waiting periods, related conditions and bilateral conditions.

ProductPre-existing wording reviewed
Budget Direct PlusFully cured conditions may be covered after at least 12 months free of signs, symptoms or treatment, except recurring, related, bilateral or complication cases.
Coles UltimatePre-existing and related/bilateral conditions are excluded; fully cured conditions can stop being excluded if complete healing is accepted.
Fetch Pet PlanPre-existing conditions are not covered; Fetch can recheck with updated vet records, with no fixed review length stated.
Knose Pet InsuranceSome pre-existing symptoms or conditions may be considered cured later; non-reviewable items remain excluded while cover continues.
Petsy Pet Protection PlusPre-existing symptoms and conditions are excluded unless an exception is approved after assessment; no fixed review length found.
RSPCA PetFlexTemporary conditions may be reviewed after at least 18 continuous months without signs; Specified Conditions are not reviewable.

This section is why the existing guide puts so much weight on pre-existing-condition definitions. A diagnosis name is only one part of the decision; timing and related conditions can decide the claim.

What maximum entry age applies?

Entry age controls whether you can start a new policy; renewal rules can be different once cover is already in place.

ProductMaximum entry age wording reviewed
Budget Direct PlusNew cover requires the pet to be over 8 weeks and under 9 years.
Coles UltimateMaximum entry age not specified in PDS text reviewed; lifetime-care renewal guarantee is stated.
Fetch Pet PlanMaximum entry age not specified in PDS text reviewed; cover percentage options are 80%, 90% or 100%.
Knose Pet InsuranceNew-policy entry is 6 weeks to 8 years 364 days.
Petsy Pet Protection PlusNew-policy entry is 365 days to 8 years 364 days.
RSPCA PetFlexNew-policy entry is 6 weeks to 8 years 364 days.

Because entry ages and renewal wording can change, use this table as a prompt to read the current PDS and TMD before relying on an older quote.

Which PDS sources were used?

Each PDS below was reviewed on 23 September 2026. Fetch publishes its PDS as a web page rather than a PDF.

ProductPDS dateSource
Budget Direct Plus Pet Insurance2024-07-22PDS
Coles Ultimate Pet Insurance2025-06-11PDS
Fetch Pet Plan2024-01-09Web PDS page, retrieved 2026-09-23
Knose Pet Insurance2024-11-15PDS
Petsy Pet Protection Plus2024-11-15PDS
RSPCA Pet Insurance PetFlex2026-06-30PDS

What is the practical conclusion?

The practical conclusion is to read the current PDS for the exact condition, not just the marketing page. IVDD, cruciate ligament and hip or elbow dysplasia claims can turn on waiting periods, pre-existing-condition timing, bilateral definitions and sub-limits.

This article is updated as product terms and the market change. All specific figures are subject to each insurer's current PDS, and nothing here is financial advice. Check the current PDS because terms change.

FAQ

Does pet insurance cover IVDD in Australia?

In this comparison, Fetch lists a 90-day IVDD waiting period, RSPCA, Knose and Petsy list IVDD as a specified condition with a 6-month wait, Budget Direct treats IVDD as an orthopaedic condition with a 30-day illness waiting period and a $25,000 orthopaedic sub-limit on Plus, and Coles does not specify IVDD in the PDS text reviewed.

How long is the cruciate ligament waiting period?

Fetch lists 90 days for any cruciate ligament issue. Budget Direct, Coles, Knose, Petsy and RSPCA list a 6-month cruciate or specified-condition waiting period in the PDS text reviewed.

What is a bilateral condition in pet insurance?

A bilateral condition is a condition affecting paired body parts such as knees, hips, eyes or ears. The PDS wording reviewed generally treats the second side as linked to the first side, and a pre-existing problem on one side can exclude the other side.

Can I insure a French Bulldog for BOAS?

BOAS wording differs by product. Fetch lists BOAS after a 90-day wait if there were no pre-cover signs; RSPCA, Knose and Petsy require assessment or acceptance; Budget Direct excludes brachycephalic illness if signs or treatment appeared before age 1; Coles does not specify BOAS in the PDS text reviewed.

Do sub-limits matter for cruciate surgery?

Yes. PetSure data cited by petinsurance.com.au puts the average cruciate total at approximately $5,500, while Budget Direct Plus lists a $3,500 cruciate sub-limit and Coles Ultimate lists a $5,300 cruciate sub-limit.